Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Archive for May 13th, 2009

Threads

leave a comment »

My review of A Thread Of Grace by Nina Allan is up now at Strange Horizons. I don’t really have much to add beyond what I said in the review.

Written by Martin

13 May 2009 at 10:35

Posted in books, sf

Tagged with , ,

‘Between Disappearances’ by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

leave a comment »

Usually I am not overly concerned about whether a SF story is hard or soft or even fantasy. I’m not even that concerned about how the science fictional elements are used. Sometimes though they are either just tacked on (as in ‘Black Tulip’) or really thin (as here). This is a fable about travel and returning home in which the supposedly science fictional element is that the main character is teleported at random by some magic beans.

Quality: **
Shiftiness: *

Written by Martin

13 May 2009 at 10:35

Posted in sf, short stories

Tagged with ,