Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Archive for February 9th, 2010

Not Enough Time, Not Enough Ears

with 5 comments

Niall Harrison is reading Nicholas Fisk: Fisk is a cornerstone for British speculative fiction readers who grew up in the Seventies and Eighties. As Niall say, it is interesting see how his work differs from contemporary children’s literature.

Adam Roberts will be reading 2666: I will be reading Robert Bolaño’s monsters novel at some point this year but I can’t face it yet. Think of it as five novellas, they say.

Casey Samulski looks back at a review of Schismatrix Plus: I keep meaning to re-read this and, indeed, the rest of Bruce Sterling’s back catalogue. My copy was picked up in a Borders in Phoenix since it isn’t published in this country and Sterling has had a tough time of it here.

Abigail Nussbaum says don’t vote in the Locus Poll: I agree.

I’m currently listening to Contra by Vampire Weekend, There Is Love In You by Four Tet and One Life Stand by Hot Chip. The first couple of listens suggest, respectively, a grower, a shower and an oh-no-er. we shall see.

Written by Martin

9 February 2010 at 12:04