Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Archive for January 2nd, 2013

Good Stuff

with 2 comments

Last year I didn’t contribute to the Strange Horizons review of the year and I wasn’t planning to this year either. But then I woke up at four in the morning with a burning need to praise M John Harrison. So I did. Looking at the choices of the other reviewers, I’m a bit surprised to see that only two people have picked Railsea. Is China MiĆ©ville losing his allure? Not with me, he isn’t. Less surprisingly, no one at all mentioned Dark Eden by Chris Beckett. This was the last book I read in 2012, one of the best and a strong contender for the Clarke Award, I reckon. I will be nominating all three for the BSFA Award (if you are a member, please get your nominations in too – they close on 11 January). And here are three novels that aren’t eligible for any awards but are bloody great:




Written by Martin

2 January 2013 at 18:01

Posted in books

Tagged with


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers