Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

If Your Life Had A Face I’d Punch It In The Balls

with 2 comments

My review of Scott Pilgrim Vs The World (2010) is up now at Strange Horizons:

Just before I went to see this film, my editor (who had already seen it) remarked that he was somewhat surprised that anyone who hasn’t read the comics has made any sense of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World. For the first fifteen minutes I couldn’t see how someone who had read the comics could enjoy the film. After that I found myself smiling and then laughing and enjoying the film on its own terms. But then, for the final fifteen minutes, I once again found the schism between the film and the comics too hard to overcome.

Living in the UK and writing about a US film, it is easy to get gazumphed. In this instance, I dilligently ignored all the reviews only to find, having written my own, that Abigail Nussbaum had already written it.

Written by Martin

3 September 2010 at 08:45

Posted in films

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There was an absolutely dreadful review of the sixth volume of the comic, Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour, in yesterday’s Guardian. I couldn’t find it online but helpfully a friend has taken a photo. Note the glaring error that makes it clear the reviewer has not read the book as well as a general tone that betrays a total lack of familiarity with the series. I often notice this with capsule reviews which is one of the reasons I dislike them so much but given it only takes a couple of hours to read the whole series it is even more unforgivable in this instance.

    Martin

    5 September 2010 at 09:37

  2. […] reading what they are reviewing. This leads to staggering factual inaccurancies such as this and this (neither from Brown but both from the […]


Leave a Reply

