Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Bestest

with 2 comments

The reviewers of Strange Horizons (including me) have posted their picks of the year. As Jonathan points out there is a lot of consensus around Kit Whitfield’s In Great Waters and China Mieville’s The City and The City (both picks of mine). Farah Mendlesohn’s On Joanna Russ, Greer Gilman’s Cloud And Ashes and Stephen Baxter’s Ark also do well. Although I promised myself a bit of a break from speculative fiction, there are several recommended books on there I would really like to read, particularly Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Frances Hardinge’s Gullstruck Island. But I will try to resist. I’m certainly not going to go overboard like Niall and block out all my reading for the year.

Written by Martin

5 January 2010 at 14:10

Posted in books, sf

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not saying I will read them all. Just that they’ve all piqued my curiosity at the moment.

    Niall

    5 January 2010 at 16:15

  2. […] been meaning to post this all week, but somehow not getting around to it. Anyway: as Martin noted, the most popular fiction books in this year’s Strange Horizons best of the year round-up […]


Leave a Reply

