Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Dark Waters of Hagwood

with 18 comments

From time to time I get hits from people searching for information about Dark Waters of Hagwood by Robin Jarvis. This sequel to Thorn Ogres Of Hagwood was due to be published in 2005 but there has been no sign of it, despite Amazon announcing a new publication date of February 2009 at the beginning of the year. I finally decided to email Puffin about this and they have confirmed that the series has been abandoned.

A great shame as Jarvis is a wonderful writer and I had high hopes for the series. He is still writing though and if you only read one anthromorphic mouse series make it the Deptford Mice trilogy (not the Deptford trilogy).

ETA: Apparently the book is written and Puffin have announced a new publication date of 2015 (see comment below) but since this is so far off I will continue to consider the book dead for the time being.

ETA 2: It lives! The book was published in 2013 and you can read my review at Strange Horizons.

Written by Martin

22 April 2009 at 11:16

Posted in books

Tagged with

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When i read this i contacted puffin and the new date for publication was given as 2015 but couldn’t be pinned down to a day or month. A long time to wait for a sequel to a book especially as both the second and third book have already been written … shame


    23 October 2009 at 15:43

  2. The next two volumes have been written? I didn’t realise that and it makes the delay really surprising (I had assumed Jarvis had got blocked and moved on to other work).

    I’m please to here there is a revised publication date. However, given past experience and how ridiculously far off it, I will believe it when I see it.


    23 October 2009 at 16:46

  3. I’ve been waiting for the sequels since my teenage years. It’s a great disappointment even now that they were never published. I wish I knew the reason for this delay, though admittedly Mr Jarvis is working on the “Deptford Mouselets” series – and there are still two trilogies (Hagwood and The Deathscent) left uncompleted.

    The author rarely updates his website these days, but at least I can still look forward to a full “Mouselets” series (I hope)


    7 January 2010 at 22:44

  4. I just finished Ogres of Hagwood and it is on my favorites list with 5 stars. I am also very disappointed the final two have not been published. I am a school librarian and was excited about adding it to our collection. Hopefully the next two will come to out for our future generations. As Anas said, I will be picking up the Mouselets series.


    18 January 2010 at 17:58

  5. After Emailing Harpercollins – I can confirm that Robin Jarvis is working on a new book called “Dancing Jax”, which is due to be released on February 2011. I’d rather he finished with the “Mouselets” first – but I can still look forward to a brand new RJ book.

    Can’t wait :D


    25 May 2010 at 02:07

  6. Yes, I believe this is a sequel to Deathscent.


    25 May 2010 at 08:51

  7. That’s what I thought, but not according to the Amazon description:

    “A brilliant supernatural thriller with a modern twist, and a triumphant return from one of Britain’s best-loved writers.

    At the end of a track, on the outskirts of an ordinary coastal town, lies a dilapidated house. Once, a group of amateur ghost hunters spent the night there. Two of them don’t like to speak about the experience. The third can’t speak about it. He went into the basement, you see, and afterwards he screamed so hard and so long he tore his vocal cords.

    Now, a group of teenagers have decided to hang out in the old haunted house. Dismissing the fears of the others, their leader Jezza goes down into the basement… and comes back up with a children’s book, full of strange and colourful tales of a playing-card world, a fairytale world, full of Jacks, Queens and Kings, unicorns and wolves.

    But the book is no fairytale. Written by Austerly Fellows, a mysterious turn-of-the-century occultist, it just might be the gateway to something terrifying…and awfully final. As the children and teenagers of the town are swept up by its terrible power, swept into its seductive world, something has begun that could usher in hell on earth. Soon, the only people standing in its way are a young boy with a sci-fi obsession, and his dad – an unassuming maths teacher called Martin…”


    22 July 2010 at 23:45

  8. Anas

    28 September 2010 at 15:40

  9. D’: This makes me cry! I havve loved that book since the first day I read it in 2002. To long have I been waiting to know what happens next. What are they going to do with the key?


    18 November 2010 at 08:25

  10. @Kua I feel your pain :(


    18 November 2010 at 21:01

  11. The Robin Jarvis website has been updated recently after a very long time. Half the things are now under construction.


    21 November 2010 at 18:31

  12. It’s happening! Robin Jarvis’ new websites states that ‘HAGWOOD IS COMING’ and the Books sections says Dark Waters of Hagwood is being released in June of 2013. The whole series is being relaunched in e-book format. I’m not entirely happy about it being only e-book, but after over a decade of waiting for this, I’ll take what i can get.


    25 December 2012 at 14:54

  13. Wonderful news – although I have to say, I’ll believe it when I see it! Why as ebook only though?


    25 December 2012 at 15:01

  14. As Martin said, I’ll believe it when I see it. There’s been so many promises in the past. I was 13 when I read Thorn Ogres. I’m not almost 28 :O


    4 January 2013 at 01:42

  15. Well, it seems it’s not only ebook after all; in june, they will all be released (Thorn Ogres re-released) in paperback as well! I’m beyond excited about this. And you know, this time it actually IS happening. Thorn Ogres was re-released in ebook format back in december, and I doubt they’d be making such a big announcment out of it on his own website if they didn’t intend to do it. Plus, it’s not like it’s some date far into the future, it’s only six months from now!
    They’ve also been re-releasing his other books, the deptford mice trilogy and tales from the wyrd museum, in case anyone is interested :)


    4 January 2013 at 15:16

  16. I just pre-ordered the kindle edition. It’s been 14 years but it’s finally coming!


    8 May 2013 at 23:08

  17. I received my paperback version in the mail today!!


    31 May 2013 at 20:18

  18. […] Waters is the sequel of Thorn Ogres Of Hagwood and is a book I never thought I’d read. But, after twelve years of waiting, Dark Water has been published, only for me to find it a huge […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: