Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

I Love The Fantasy Blogosphere

with one comment

Bookspot Central publish a review:

It must be said that The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death ain’t your typical Charlie Huston novel – whatever the fuck that’s supposed to mean. Yeah, it has the blood (tons of the stuff), it has the kick-ass dialogue, the one-of-a-kind stream-lined prose, and it moves along like a motherfucker – but this is no doubt a major departure for Huston. Shit, I’d argue that Mystic Arts isn’t even noir.

Yeah, I fucking just said that. Deal with that shit.

Fantasy Book News & Reviews wring their hands:

While I won’t go so far as to say that I found the review offensive, I did wonder about the prolific profanity. Is that really appropriate in a review? Especially considering the review is published by a “professional” review site?

The scare quotes are presumably because the idea that Bookspot Central is a professional review site is laughable. Anyway, what this post singularly manages to miss is the review is not bad because it contains swearing but, rather, is bad because it is fucking shit. As OF Blog of the Fallen go pointlessly overboard in proving. I love the fantasy blogosphere (and I haven’t even mentioned the girls are yucky debacle.)

Written by Martin

7 February 2009 at 09:50

Posted in sf

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, I’ll chalk up my post to being strung out on codeine and feeling like I’d point out the obvious in full detail, since as you said, it wasn’t the profanity that made that review bad. If I had read it now, I likely would have shrugged and moved on and resumed writing my own reviews, which I hope will be at least marginally better.

    Larry

    7 February 2009 at 17:51


Leave a Reply

