Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

More Things What I Think Are Good

leave a comment »

I’ve done my awards but my brief best of the year is up now at Strange Horizons. I’ve tended to the short and sweet with both but here are all the SF novels I’ve enjoyed this year (in order of when I read them):

The Carhullan Army by Sarah Hall
Death’s Head by David Gunn
Shadow Web by NM Browne
Pretty Little Things To Fill Up The Void by Simon Logan
Bunker 10 by JA Henderson
Clear Water by Will Ashon
Ascent by Jed Mecurio
Hospital by Toby Litt
The Heritage by Will Ashon
Cold Skin by Albert Sánchez Piñol (translated by Cheryl Leah Morgan)
Anathem by Neal Stephenson
The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
A State Of Denmark by Derek Raymond
A Canticle For Lieberwitz by Walter Miller Jr
The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Shadows Linger by Glen Cook
The Stone Gods by Jeanette Winterson
Hot Head by Simon Ings

I now have what will undoubtedly be the joyous of experience of reading the one novel I received for Christmas: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves by MT Anderson. A pretty good way to start 2009, I think you’ll agree.

Written by Martin

5 January 2009 at 12:18

Posted in books

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

