Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Good Stuff

with 2 comments

Last year I didn’t contribute to the Strange Horizons review of the year and I wasn’t planning to this year either. But then I woke up at four in the morning with a burning need to praise M John Harrison. So I did. Looking at the choices of the other reviewers, I’m a bit surprised to see that only two people have picked Railsea. Is China Miéville losing his allure? Not with me, he isn’t. Less surprisingly, no one at all mentioned Dark Eden by Chris Beckett. This was the last book I read in 2012, one of the best and a strong contender for the Clarke Award, I reckon. I will be nominating all three for the BSFA Award (if you are a member, please get your nominations in too – they close on 11 January). And here are three novels that aren’t eligible for any awards but are bloody great:

9781849010337

joan-slonczewski-a-door-into-ocean

darkmatter

Written by Martin

2 January 2013 at 18:01

Posted in books

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] that was the best of what I read in 2012 but what about the rest? Well, I didn’t read many books this year; according to my [...]

  2. […] Horizons has published its year in review which features – as it does most years -a contribution from yours truly. Mostly I use it as an opportunity to praise the shortlists of […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

