Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Maul

with 8 comments

maul

It feels smooth and heavy and warm when I stroke it because I’ve been sleeping with it between my legs. I like to inhale its grey infinite smell for a while before I pass my lips down its length, courting it with the tip of my tongue, until my mouth has come to the wider part near the tip.

I’ve written at length about the opening chapter of Maul by Tricia Sullivan. Tony Keen has also recently posted a three part discussion of the novel over at Torque Control:

Maul was published in 2003. It was shortlisted for the 2004 Arthur C Clarke Award but lost to Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson. I’ve not read Stephenson’s novel but I find the decision suprising simply because I find it hard to imagine a better SF novel than Maul was published that year. It is a superb novel; exhilerating and exciting whilst simultaneously being thorny and challenging. I would suggest everyone read rushes out to their nearest bookshop and buys a copy immediately. But, of course, you can’t. Eight years later, Maul is out of print and Sullivan is out of contract. Does anyone believe there isn’t a problem with that?

Written by Martin

7 July 2011 at 16:57

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Comments Maul « Everyth… on Maul – product plac…Maul « Everyth… on [...]

  2. I would suggest everyone read rushes out to their nearest bookshop and buys a copy immediately. But, of course, you can’t.

    You can rush to your nearest library, though. Even if it’s not on the shelf there and then, you should certainly be able to reserve it (for a nominal fee).

    Nick H.

    8 July 2011 at 00:02

  3. I’m currently reading Sullivan’s ‘Sound Mind’ and it’s also a fine, unique novel. Happily I have Someone to Watch Over Me waiting on my to-read shelves as well!

    ShaunCG

    8 July 2011 at 11:28

  4. I reviewed the whole shortlist back in the day; a rather too diffuse piece of reviewing, actually, looking back; and one where not all its judgements have stood the test of time (for instance I thought Quicksilver would be forgotten in a few days; though that hasn’t happened; and my enthusiasm for Macleod’s Light Ages hasn’t worn well — generally, as well as personally). But by and large I stand by what I said: and one of the things I said was that either Baxter’s Coalescent or Sullivan’s Maul deserved to win — I thought, and think, very highly of the novel — whereas the Stephenson was the least of the lot. Wha!-Wha!-Oops, as the phrase goes, as far as my predicting-the-Clarke powers go.

    Adam Roberts

    8 July 2011 at 20:04

  5. “…I thought Quicksilver would be forgotten in a few days…”

    I actually said ‘years’. But since having kids, I tend to confuse days and years.

    Adam Roberts

    8 July 2011 at 22:39

  6. I’ve read all of that shortlist bar Darwin’s Children, and I’m pretty certain that for me Maul deserved to win (by quite some distance – I’m not as enamoured of Coalescent as Adam is). But you know better than I how Clarke juries work …

    tonykeen46

    11 July 2011 at 07:46

  7. I live in the US, but originally read this edition of Maul. I ordered it online. Can you order the Night Shade Books edition that’s still in print in the US? Spectacular book. I gave my original copy to a friend and now have the NSB copy on my shelf. Also, tracked down Sullivan’s entire backlist and REALLY need to dig into that at some point.

    mentatjack

    16 July 2011 at 08:26

  8. [...] Maul by Tricia Sullivan (further discussion at Torque Control) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

