Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

You Can Only Have Nice Things When You Can’t See The Spine

with 3 comments

Solaris are reissuing James Lovegrove’s back catalogue and, despite the fact they are only appearing as e-books, they have commissioned some lovely new covers by Pye Parr:

Worldstorm is my favourite but The Hope works really well on a dual level. Imagined Sleights and Provender Gleed are the weakest of the bunch – muddy and lacking an iconic image to really nail the title – but they are a vast improvement on the original Gollancz covers and Parr is to be applauded. So too are Solaris for commissioning him; it is nice to see a publisher taking both ebooks and design seriously and I’m looking forward to the two remaining covers. A mystery remains though: if Solaris are taking so much care with these re-issues, why have they given his current series such bloody awful covers? Maybe it is actually true what every publisher thinks and everyone who ever visits a bookshop is really blind and mentally ill. I’m not convinced.

Written by Martin

29 November 2010 at 22:28

Posted in books

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My entirely unfair impression, given that I haven’t read any of them myself, is that the three “gods” books are more commercial, action-led fare than his earlier work, hence the cover treatment. I do quite like the cover for his next one, although even then it’s not as nice as these ebooks.

    Niall

    30 November 2010 at 11:15

  2. My entirely unfair impression, given that I haven’t read any of them myself, is that the three “gods” books are more commercial, action-led fare than his earlier work

    That is an accurate description (in as far as it goes). Lovegrove is clearly knocking them out for money so I’m pleased to see him returning to something similar to his earlier stuff with Dust.

    Still, it is a shame that Solaris would take this level of care with another publisher’s backlist whilst not investing in their frontlist in a similar way. Currently they have the worst list of any of the UK genre publishers. This is obviously by design – they concentrate on meat and two veg core genre works and I guess that business model works for them – but as a reader it is frustrating, particularly when something like this shows real potential.

    Martin

    30 November 2010 at 11:34

  3. I read The Age of Ra last year and thought, this is not why I read James Lovegrove. Dust sounds… promising.

    Take the author’s name away, and I doubt I would guess that the backlist and frontlist covers belonged to books by the same author, if I didn’t already know.

    David H

    30 November 2010 at 12:20


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

