Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Two

with 9 comments

When I started this blog I was keen it didn’t just become about science fiction. I have succeeded: it has become a blog about science fiction and restaurants! I would go so far as to say it is the best blog about science fiction and restaurants on the whole damn internet.

Everything Is Nice is two today. Hooray! My average number of page views has doubled over the last year and I think I’ve worked out what I want to say and found a bunch of people who want to hear it. I’d still like to make the contents of this blog more diverse but it is pretty clear I’ve settled down into a pattern. Over the last year I have become the reviews editor for Vector and a judge for the Arthur C Clarke Award; science fiction is a big part of my life and it is obvious that it is one of the things I most enjoy writing about.

The greatest hits of this blog this year as voted for by you, the public:

1) CAPS LOCK RAGE – in which I implore SF reviewers to raise their game.
2) ‘The Star’ by Arthur C. Clarke – in which I dislike a short story.
3) ‘The Fifth Head Of Cerberus’ by Gene Wolfe – in which I decided Wolfe isn’t all bad.
4) Epic Fantasy Vs Sword And Sorcery – in which I muse about, well, the title is pretty self-explanatory.
5) Inferiority Complex – in which I implore SF readers to raise their game.
6) Margaret Atwood Steals The Bread From Neal Asher’s Mouth – in which I don’t care whether science fiction is dying.
7) ‘Light Of Other Days’ by Bob Shaw – in which I dislike a short story.
8) Dark Waters of Hagwood – in which I wonder if Dark Waters of Hagwood is ever coming out.
9) Dark Fantasy – in which I wonder what the fuck Dark Fantasy is meant to be.
10) ‘The God Of Dark Laughter’ by Michael Chabon – in which I dislike a short story.

So, for the second year in a row, Andy Remic is what it is all about. The entry on ‘The God Of Dark Laughter’ is the only re-entry from 2009 (it was the eighth most popular last year) which means I really should get round to writing a proper piece about it.

Written by Martin

14 September 2010 at 15:54

Posted in blog management

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read this site via Google Reader, via the RSS feed. Along with about 54 others.

    Unless I click through to read the comments, I’m pretty sure I won’t show up on your stats. So they’re even higher.

    cDave

    14 September 2010 at 16:30

  2. If there was ever a post that needed the sneaky baby picture of you, clearly this is it.

    chance

    14 September 2010 at 18:30

  3. I have updated the post just for you, Chance.

    Martin

    14 September 2010 at 18:42

  4. Ah! Othello! Now there was a game of its era.

    Adam Roberts

    14 September 2010 at 19:28

  5. Happy birthday EIN!

    (I have to say I mostly skip your restaurant reviews as I don’t live in London or eat out much, but it’s still nice that they’re there.)

    ShaunCG

    16 September 2010 at 15:05

  6. I almost reviewed Terre à Terre in Brighton a couple of months ago but me and my wife pickled ourselves the night before and the journey proved too much.

    Martin

    16 September 2010 at 15:46

  7. It’s many years since I ate there but I do recall it being rather good. I might struggle to get back there again as I know too many carnivores and too few other vegetarians…

    ShaunCG

    17 September 2010 at 10:53

  8. Hey, I’m a carnivore, and even I thought that Terre a Terre was pretty good. There wasn’t much I wanted to order, but what I did order was very tasty.

    Niall

    17 September 2010 at 16:12

  9. [...] for the second year in a row, ‘The Star’ takes second place which was perhaps appropriate since my series of posts [...]

    Three « Everything Is Nice

    27 October 2011 at 16:07


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

