Everything Is Nice

Beating the nice nice nice thing to death (with fluffy pillows)

Manifestos: Round Umpty Million

with 8 comments

Well, that whole optimistic thing has kept on rolling. Except now it is “positive”, not “optimistic”. And by “positive” they mean involving any change or attempted change regardless of whether that change is good or bad. So congratulations on making your manifesto even stupider than it started off as.

Here is my manifesto:

I want stories about the gulags.
I want stories about sexual anxiety in the early Sixties.
I want stories about feminist uprisings in Cumbria.
I want stories about the invasion of Czechoslovakia that combine autobiography, history and criticism.
I want stories about manly men zooming around space and blowing shit up.
I want stories about young girls ripping the fabric of time and plunging into alternate Londons.
I want stories about slaves raised in strange circumstance on the cusp of the Revolutionary War.
I want stories about shadowy conspiracies involving shopping centres.
I want stories about hospitals cut adrift from reality.
I want stories about finding an angel in your garage.
I want stories about guarding the corpse of Myra Hyndley.
I want stories about being abandoned on an Antarctic island with unknown amphibious creatures.
I want stories about social imposters in the intra-war years.
I want stories about an Alaska that never was.
I want stories about England quitely slipping into dictatorship.
I want stories about studying at the Slade.

I want anything under the sun (or beyond it) as long as it is good.

Written by Martin

8 October 2008 at 14:04

Posted in genre wars, sf

Tagged with

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do we get points for identifying all of these?

    Niall

    8 October 2008 at 14:31

  2. You can have a crack but it is relatively easy. Particularly for you.

    Martin

    8 October 2008 at 14:44

  3. Actually, I can’t get all of them. Although some of them are pretty broad. :p

    I want stories about the gulags.

    Don’t know.

    I want stories about sexual anxiety in the early Sixties.

    On Chesil Beach?

    I want stories about feminist uprisings in Cumbria.

    The Carhullan Army by Sarah Hall.

    I want stories about the invasion of Czechoslovakia that combine autobiography, history and criticism.

    Don’t know, but I want this, too.

    I want stories about manly men zooming around space and blowing shit up.

    A bit vague. Crystal Rain?

    I want stories about young girls ripping the fabric of time and plunging into alternate Londons.

    Shadow Web by NM Browne.

    I want stories about slaves raised in strange circumstance on the cusp of the Revolutionary War.

    Octavian Nothing.

    I want stories about shadowy conspricaies involving shopping centres.

    Clear Water by Will Ashon.

    I want stories about hospitals cut adrift from reality.

    Hospital by Toby Litt.

    I want stories about finding an angel in your garage.

    Pass.

    I want stories about guarding the corpse of Myra Hyndley.

    That Rupert Thomson one. Death of a Murderer?

    I want stories about being abandoned on an Antarctic island with unknown amphibious creatures.

    Cold Skin by Albert Sanchez Pinol.

    I want stories about social imposters in the intra-war years.

    Uh … pass.

    I want stories about an Alaska that never was.

    The Yiddish Policemen’s Union!

    I want stories about England quitely slipping into dictatorship.

    This should be The Summer Isles, but is probably that Derek Raymond book I can’t remember the title of.

    I want stories about studying at the Slade.

    No idea.

    Niall

    8 October 2008 at 14:52

  4. Very good! The vague menly men one is that awesome David Gunn one you gave me.

    I want stories about social imposters in the intra-war years.

    Here is a clue: Dan Hartland.

    Martin

    8 October 2008 at 15:03

  5. Is it Austerlitz? I was just looking at that in a shop on Saturday

    Alison

    8 October 2008 at 16:09

  6. I want stories about the gulags.

    House Of Meetings.

    I want stories about the invasion of Czechoslovakia that combine autobiography, history and criticism.

    The Unbearable Lightness Of Being

    I want stories about finding an angel in your garage.

    Skellig

    I want stories about social imposters in the intra-war years.

    The Great Gatsby.

    I want stories about studying at the Slade.

    Life Class. (This is a bit of a rubbish description of the novel.)

    These were all things I read and enjoyed this year without any concern for how optimistic or positive or otherwise they were.

    Martin

    8 October 2008 at 16:49

  7. Gatsby, of course. Should have got that.

    Niall

    8 October 2008 at 22:12

  8. [...] more than its fair share of tendentious crap but I was interested to what his rebutal of my position was. He summarises this position as “I will not confirm to your positivist agenda: nobody [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

